We are glad to bring to you the list of nominees for this year’s SDA, fresh from their webmagazine 7. “With a total of 212 entries from 48 different countries, 24 titles have been selected, with 8 per category: TV movie, mini-series and TV series.

Nominees for the TV Movies category are:

  • My Home, My Family (Japan, MBS);
  • Naked among Wolves (Germany, ARD);
  • Snowy Path (South Korea, KBS);
  • Starfighter (Germany, RTL);
  • The Good Sister (Canada, Lifetime);
  • The Self Love (Czech Republict, CT1);
  • We Did It for the Money (Germany, ARD);
  • Woman Under Influence (France, TF1).

Nominees for Mini-Series are:

  • Acquitted (Norway, TV2);
  • Bad Guys (South Korea, OCN);
  • Empire (USA, FOX);
  • Misaeng (South Korea, tvN);
  • Jane the Virgin (USA, The CW);
  • Old Money (Austria, ORF);
  • Wentworth Season 2 (Australia, Foxtel);
  • Wolf Hall (UK, BBC Two).

Nominees for TV Series are:

  • Cherry Season (Turkey, FOX);
  • Daddy Dearest (Malaysia, Natseven);
  • Deng Xiaoping and China at a Turning Point (China, CCTV1);
  • Home Away from Home (Taiwan, Da’Ai TV);
  • Mr. Good Man – A Story of Emotion Care (China, CCTV8);
  • Open Your Eyes (Angola, TPA);
  • The Journey – Tumultuous Times (Singapore, MediaCorp);
  • Yuna’s Street (South Korea, jTBC).

Individual contributors have also been nominated across four categories:

Best Director:

  • Manfred Stelzer for We Did It for the Money (Germany);
  • Jaroslav Brabec for The American Letters (Czech Republic);
  • Won-seok Kim for Misaeng (South Korea);
  • Brad Silberling for Jane the Virgin (USA);
  • Xiaojun Han for The Great Protector (China);
  • Yin Karm Loo for The Journey: Tumultuous Times (Singapore).

Best Screenwriter:

  • Jens Urban for We Did It for the Money (Germany);
  • Bob Low for The Good Sister (Canada);
  • Lee Daniels for Empire (USA);
  • Siv Rajendram Eliassen and Anna Bache-Wig for Acquitted (Norway);
  • Woon-kyung Kim for Yuna’s Street (South Korea);
  • Sui Ching Mui for The Virtuous Queen of Han (China).

Best Actor:

  • Adrien Brody for Houdini (USA);
  • Florian Lukas for We Did It for the Money (Germany);
  • Terrence Howard for Empire (USA);
  • Sung Ji for Kill Me Heal Me (South Korea);
  • Engin Akyurek for Black Money Love (Turkey);
  • Shaohua Ma for Deng Xiaoping and China at a Turning Point (China).

Best Actress:

  • Sonya Walger for The Good Sister (Canada);
  • Simona Stasova for The Self Lover (Czech Republic);
  • Gina Rodriguez for Jane the Virgin (USA);
  • Lena Andre for Acquitted (Norway);
  • Ozge Gurel for Cherry Season (Turkey);
  • Luodan Wang for The Virtuous Queen of Han (China).

We will all be there to cheer for BBC’s Wolf Hall, and of course all the Korean dramas selected – including Misaeng which we will show at our upcoming London Korean Drama Screenings.

Another great news is that the Global Drama Forum will be hosting panel debates about the rise of web dramas and their diversity across the different digital platforms existing. Daehan Drama will be representing French-Chinese webseries Ex-Model and certainly take part in the dialogue.

Related Article