Votes for this year’s Soompi awards came to a close and results have now been revealed. Between 21 December 2015 and 7 January 2016, 40 million votes have been submitted by fans from 139 countries, from Finland to Ghana passing by Qatar – a 70% increase on last year.

The Soompi awards aim to celebrate the best in Korean entertainment releases of the past year, in particular music and television dramas.

In the Kdrama categories, the top winners are Kim Soo-hyun for Actor of the Year, Song Ji-hyo for Actress of the Year, and She Was Pretty for Drama of the Year. Choi Siwon was also elected as the Best Idol Actor of the Year. A Special Award was also attributed to Group 8 for their contribution to Hallyu with their hit Boys Over Flowers. The production company is behind other popular Kdramas such as Tomorrow’s Cantabile, Playful Kiss and Goong.

Soompi also concocted an exciting video to reveal the winners with Topp Dogg being the MCs for this year’s announcement:

Meanwhile, as for our very own Daehan Drama Awards, we have decided to exceptionally extend the voting deadline to Sunday April 4th. So please take this opportunity to cast your vote if you haven’t done yet. We are already excited that some of the nominees have agreed to record a video to thank you for your votes!

For the full results of the Soompi Awards, see below:

Best Female Solo Artist


Best Male Solo Artist


Best Female Group

Girls’ Generation

Best Male Group


Best Hip-Hop Artist


Best Collaboration

Taeyeon – I (feat. Verbal Jint)

Song of the Year

EXO – Call Me Baby

Rookie of the Year


Breakout Artist


Album of the Year


Best Music Video

GOT7 – Just Right

Best Choreography

BTS – Dope

Best Stage Outfit


Best Fandom


Artist of the Year


Best Drama OST

Tiger JK – Reset (feat. Jin Shil)

Actor of the Year

Kim Soo-hyun

Actress of the Year

Song Ji-hyo

Drama of the Year

She Was Pretty

Breakout Actor

Nam Joo-hyuk

Idol Actor of the Year

Choi Si-won

Best Variety Show

Running Man

Best Variety Star

Song Triplets – Superman Returns

Best Couple

Lee Won-geun x Jung Eun-ji – Sassy Go Go

Best Bromance

Park Seo-joon x Choi Si-won – She Was Pretty

Second Lead Syndrome

Ji Soo – Sassy Go Go

Best Kiss

Hwang Jung-eum x Park Seo-joon – She Was Pretty

Best Cameo

D.O. – I Remember You

Best Transformation

Ji Sung – Kill Me, Heal Me

Best Supernatural Drama

Who Are You – School 2015

Hallyu Special Award

Boys Over Flowers

Related Article